The British Fantasy Society Announces The Winners Of The British Fantasy Awards 2020

The British Fantasy Society Announces The Winners Of The British Fantasy Awards 2020

Celebrating The Best In Fantasy For The Year

Last night, the British Fantasy Society just announced the winners of the 2020 British Fantasy Awards and here they are. Congratulations to all the winners…

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

  • WINNER: The Bone Ships, RJ Barker (Orbit)
  • The Ten Thousand Doors of January, Alix E. Harrow (Orbit)
  • The Migration, Helen Marshall (Titan)
  • The Poison Song, Jen Williams (Headline)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

  • WINNER: The Reddening, Adam Nevill (Ritual Limited)
  • The Plague Stones, James Brogden (Titan)
  • The Institute, Stephen King (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • The Twisted Ones, T. Kingfisher (Titan)
  • Mistletoe, Alison Littlewood (Jo Fletcher)
  • The Migration, Helen Marshall (Titan)

Best Novella

  • WINNER: Ormeshadow, Priya Sharma ( Publishing)
  • “Butcher’s Table”, Nathan Ballingrud (Wounds)
  • Ragged Alice, Gareth L. Powell ( Publishing)
  • The Deep, Rivers Solomon, Daveed Diggs, William Hutson & Jonathan Snipes (Gallery)
  • The Survival of Molly Southbourne, Tade Thompson ( Publishing)
  • The Ascent to Godhood, JY Yang ( Publishing)

Best Short Story

  • WINNER: “The Pain-Eater’s Daughter”, Laura Mauro (Sing Your Sadness Deep)
  • “Dendrochronology”, Penny Jones (The Woods)
  • “I Say (I Say, I Say)”, Robert Shearman (Tales from the Shadow Booth, Vol. 3)
  • Tomorrow, When I Was Young“, Julie Travis (Eibonvale)

Best Collection

  • WINNER: Sing Your Sadness Deep, Laura Mauro (Undertow)
  • This House of Wounds, Georgina Bruce (Undertow)
  • Of Wars, and Memories, and Starlight, Aliette de Bodard (Subterranean)
  • The Boughs Withered When I Told Them My Dreams, Maura McHugh (NewCon)
  • Growing Things, Paul Tremblay (Titan)

Best Anthology

  • WINNER: New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction for People of Color, Nisi Shawl, ed. (Solaris)
  • A Secret Guide to Fighting Elder Gods, Jennifer Brozek, ed. (Pulse)
  • Once Upon a Parsec: The Book of Alien Fairy Tales, David Gullen, ed. (NewCon)
  • Wonderland, Marie O’Regan & Paul Kane, eds. (Titan)
  • The Woods, Phil Sloman, ed. (Hersham Horror)
  • The Big Book of Classic Fantasy, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Vintage)

Best Independent Press

  • WINNER: Rebellion
  • Aqueduct
  • Black Shuck
  • Luna
  • NewCon
  • Undertow

Best Non-Fiction

  • WINNER: The Dark Fantastic: Race and the Imagination from Harry Potter to the Hunger Games, Ebony Elizabeth Thomas (New York University Press)
  • Joanna Russ, Gwyneth Jones (University of Illinois Press)
  • The Pleasant Profession of Robert A. Heinlein, Farah Mendlesohn (Unbound)
  • “Notes from the Borderland”, Lynda E Rucker (Black Static 9-10/20)
  • The Full Lid, Alasdair Stuart
  • Coffinmaker’s Blues: Collected Writings on Terror, Stephen Volk (PS)

Best Magazine / Periodical

  • WINNER: Fiyah
  • Black Static
  • The Dark
  • Gingernuts of Horror
  • Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction
  • Shoreline of Infinity

Best Artist

  • WINNER: Ben Baldwin
  • Vince Haig
  • Jackie Morris
  • David Rix

Best Comic / Graphic Novel

  • WINNER: DIE, Kieron Gillen & Stephanie Hans (Image)
  • Basketful of Heads #1, Joe Hill, Leomacs & Dave Stewart (DC)
  • The Ozone Diary, Tero Mielonen & Pentti Otsamo (Luna)
  • B.P.R.D. The Devil You Know, Vol. 3: Ragna Rok, Mike Mignola, Scott Allie, Laurence Campbell, et al. (Dark Horse)
  • 2000AD, Matt Smith, ed. (Rebellion)
  • DCeased #1-6, Tom Taylor, Trevor Hairsine, Stefano Gaudiano, et al. (DC)

Best Audio

  • WINNER: PodCastle
  • Breaking the Glass Slipper
  • PseudoPod
  • Speculative Spaces

Best Film / Television Production

  • WINNER: Us
  • Game of Thrones: “The Long Night”
  • Watchmen: “It’s Summer and We’re Running Out of Ice”
  • The Witcher: “Rare Species”

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J Bounds Award)

  • WINNER: Ta-Nehisi Coates, for The Water Dancer (One World)
  • Alix E. Harrow, for The Ten Thousand Doors of January (Orbit)
  • Penny Jones, for Suffer Little Children (Black Shuck)
  • Tamsyn Muir, for Gideon the Ninth ( Publishing)
  • Nina Oram, for The Joining (Luna)

Karl Edward Wagner Award

  • Craig Lockley

Winners were chosen by jury, except for the special award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award), which was chosen by the BFS committee.

British Fantasy Awards

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: